Please use another Browser

It looks like you are using a browser that is not fully supported. Please note that there might be constraints on site display and usability. For the best experience we suggest that you download the newest version of a supported browser:

Internet Explorer, Chrome Browser, Firefox Browser, Safari Browser

Continue with the current browser

Siemens names candidates for election to Supervisory Board in January 2018

  • Werner Brandt, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of RWE AG, Essen, Germany, and of ProSiebenSat.1 Media SE, Munich, Germany,
  • Benoît Potier, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Air Liquide S.A., Paris, France,
  • Dame Nemat Talaat (Minouche) Shafik, Director of the London School of Economics, London, United Kingdom,
  • Matthias Zachert, Chairman of the Board of Management of LANXESS AG, Cologne, Germany.
Michael Diekmann, Norbert Reithofer and Nathalie von Siemens are to be reelected. Supervisory Board members Nicola Leibinger-Kammüller, Jim Hagemann Snabe and Werner Wenning were reelected ahead of schedule in January 2016 for a term of office that will expire at the conclusion of the Annual Shareholders' Meeting in 2021.
"Siemens is a company that continuously transforms itself. Fundamental changes in the economy and society are accompanying the advance of digitalization. Companies that – like Siemens – are actively helping shape these changes and developing the right business models have every opportunity to be extremely successful. I'm very pleased we've been able to acquire top managers of international renown as candidates for election to our Supervisory Board – individuals who will contribute extensive expertise to the Supervisory Board and thus further sharpen its profile. I'd like to express my sincere thanks to Hans Michael Gaul, Gérard Mestrallet and Güler Sabancı for their constructive cooperation and dedication during their terms of office on the Supervisory Board and especially for the support they've provided for the rigorous implementation of our Vision 2020 program," said Gerhard Cromme, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Siemens AG.
Gerhard Cromme's term of office will expire at the conclusion of the Annual Shareholders' Meeting in 2018. A member of the Supervisory Board of Siemens AG since 2003, he has chaired the body since 2007. In January 2017, the Supervisory Board's Nominating Committee recommended that Jim Hagemann Snabe succeed Gerhard Cromme as Chairman of the Supervisory Board. At its constituent meeting on January 31, 2018, the Supervisory Board is to elect Jim Hagemann Snabe as its Chairman.
In accordance with the German Codetermination Act (Mitbestimmungsgesetz), the employee representatives on the Supervisory Board were elected on October 5, 2017. Their terms of office will begin at the conclusion of the 2018 Annual Shareholders Meeting.

For this press release




Siemens AG (Berlin and Munich) is a global technology powerhouse that has stood for engineering excellence, innovation, quality, reliability and internationality for 170 years. The company is active around the globe, focusing on the areas of electrification, automation and digitalization. One of the world's largest producers of energy-efficient, resource-saving technologies, Siemens is a leading supplier of efficient power generation and power transmission solutions and a pioneer in infrastructure solutions as well as automation, drive and software solutions for industry. The company is also a leading provider of medical imaging equipment – such as computed tomography and magnetic resonance imaging systems – and a leader in laboratory diagnostics as well as clinical IT. In fiscal 2017, which ended on September 30, 2017, Siemens generated revenue of €83.0 billion and net income of €6.2 billion. At the end of September 2017, the company had around 372,000 employees worldwide. Further information is available on the Internet at
Read more


Michael Friedrich

Siemens AG

Charlottenstr. 57
10117 Berlin

+49 (30) 386-24187